The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the business manager of a unnamed television station, it is stated that to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any revenues the television station should restore time devoted to weather and local news to the former level. The author has supported this conclusion by stating that most complaints during this period had come from viewers concerned with the station’s coverage of local and weather news. However, before this argument can be analysed correctly, and any changes be made, 3 specific evidencesneed to be evaluated.

First of all, evidence needs to be provided about the complaints being from viewers who are the representative set of the majority of the audience and are not merely outliers. It is possible that, Perhaps, the complaints are only from a select few viewers and that majority of the viewers are not bothered by the change in content coverage of the channel. It is also possible that the viewership has increased and that bulk of the viewership has. If the above examples hold merit the conclusion drawn by the author is significantly weakened and he needs to substantiate his argument with more evidence.

Second of all, more evidence is needed regarding the change in coverage being the sol reason of the cancellation of the advertising contracts by local businesses. It is possible that the coverage might not have been the issue, and they might have cancelled due to some other reason. It is possible that, maybe there was a recession due to the which the local businesses have been forced to cancel advertisement contracts to cut costs and survive. There is also the potential that the business have found better and more effective ways, such as online advertisement or sports endorsement etc to reach their target customers. Therefore, if the above examples hold water then the conclusion drawn by the author is premature at best and invalid at worst.

Lastly, evidence regarding the claim that the viewership would increase once the company reverts to devoting the same amount of time to weather and local news. It is possible that this might not be the case and the customers might not come back even after this change. Maybe, the customers who started watching other channels have found those channels to be more relatable and hence would not switch back to this television channel. It is also possible that the current viewership might not be in favour of returning to the original coverage focus, and this might even reduce the viewership more. If the above examples hold their ground then the conclusion drawn by the author to revert to to devoting the same amount of time to weather and local news is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, it is possible that the television station is able to garner more viewership and attract local businesses for advertisement contracts by changing by restoring the coverage of local and weather news to its former level. However, the argument as it stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the specific evidence regarding the aforementioned perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, Only then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of his proposal to revert back to the former coverage level.