The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authors argument may look convincing at its first look, but in actual it lacks with proper reasoning which makes the argument a faulty argument. Author should have provided Proper database and facts to make the argument a cogent argument.

Initially author fails to provide the exact time that is allotted to National news and Weather and local news. The word 'less’ is a vague term as it does not provide exact time allotment to both news. For instance, the News program runs for 6 hours and if 4 hours is allotted to National news and 2 hours to Weather and local news. If 2 hours are sufficient for Weather and local news as it covers all news related to weather and locality, then increasing allotted time to Weather and local news will not at all benefit in any way.

Also, author fails to address the complaints in a detail way. The author has not provided any data on complains, who is complaining, what are the reasons for complaining. Nothing is addressed by the author. The author says that the station received complaints regarding station's coverage of weather and local news but what were the complains is not provided by the author. If people have complained regarding the content shown in weather and local news or with the presentation skills of the news anchor, then increasing allotted time to Weather and local news will not at all benefit in any way but may result in negative way tending more loss of viewers.

Further no information on why Local businesses cancelled the advertising contract with the news station is provided by the author. If cost of advertising is more at the news station and local businesses are not able to afford those costs, then decreasing allotted time to weather and local news has not relation with loss of advertising contracts. There are chances that local businesses have found other way of advertising like through newspapers or through other news channel which are far more effective than News station. Author needs to analyze these factors and needs to understand that increasing allotted time to Weather and local news may not benefit to great extent.

Author needs to provide more facts and data to sound convincing. Increasing allotted time to Weather and local news may not help as there may be other reasons for loss viewers and advertising contracts. Author needs to analyze them to increase viewership and gain further advertising contracts.