The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The given statement discusses the effects of change in the news type displayed on the channel during the past year and proposes a solution for those effects but the statement which is discussed here is irregular and ambiguous to give a proper idea of the statement.

As the statement denotes that they have given more time to national news than the weather and local news but there isn't any point mentioned about the change in viewership of the audience in the past year. There may be an increase or decrease in the audience over the past year.

Next, the statement says that the channel has received complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news but there isn't any information about the nature of those complaints like what exactly people are concerned about, is it the timing of the news or about the information given in the news or any wrong information presented accidentally by the channel also, there isn't any information about the number of complaints received by the channel and how much percentage of the total viewership they represent

Also, there isn't any information about the locations from which these complaints are coming. This can be a major issue if they are coming from regions that are not the targeted region for the channel's business.

Next, we can't attribute the cancelation of the advertising contracts directly to the reduction in the timings of local news. There can be many reasons like cutdown in the marketing spend by the businesses which ultimately resulted in the cancellation of advertising contracts or it may be an issue of the late-night timings because businesses may have noticed that there aren't many people watching late-night news so we can't exactly identify the issues about a reduction in advertising revenues for the channel from the given statement.

so, changing the decision to restore the former model for weather and local news is highly flawed and contains many loopholes. It is advisable to first identify Maximum reasons for declining advertisement revenues from local businesses, Change in viewership in the past year, revise late night timings for news broadcast, etc. to make effective decisions in such situations.