The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In a recent memorandum from the business manager, it is asserted that restoring the time devoted as previous in weather and local news will help to avoid the advertisement revenue earned by the television station. The manager maintained the statement based on the complaints related to the aforementioned programs, however, the evidence provided is inadequate and further evidences are required to analyze the viability of the claim.

To begin, the argument is based on the assumption that the certain part can represent the whole scenario. For example, the author mentioned that most complaints received are related to weather and local news, but didn't explicitly describes about the amount of the complaints; it might be possible that the complaints were only 12 and those related to the program were 10. Can 10 complaints could represent the whole audiences which might be 10,000s? Of course not. Therefore, further detailed facts need to be provided in oder to butress the argument; else, the argument is significantly undermined.

Moreover, even we assume there were plenty of complaints; the manager assumes that the complaints were the main reasons for the cancellation of their advertising contracts during their late-night news program. For instance, it might be case that the cancellation was because of their predilection and suitable amount offered for the advertisement in another television station. Also, it might be the case that the advertiser no more needs to advertise their product for the lucrative selling. If any of the above have merit then the argument as a whole is significantly weakened and does not hold water; so, further detailed reasearch is required to bolster the claim.

Furthermore, the manager provides no information about the other competitive television stations. The claim made might not hold true if the advertiser are attracted by the another t.v programs which might be more popular in the areas. In order to ascertain that the claim is resonable, further information regarding the other competitors in the vicinity needs to be assessed, otherwise the claim to restore the time devoted for the program might be futile.

In conclusion, the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions and the evidence provided are insufficient to evaluate the practicability of the assertion to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Therefore, the aforementioned evidences must be provided in the form of systematic research.