The following is a memorandum fron the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The issue clearly specifies that the late-night news program is facing a few complaints which need to be catered upon. But the premises need to be supported with valid pieces of evidence. As the news program is facing a few issues the local businessmen and customers both need to be given equal justice. I'll take a conditional stand on the same.

If the author rethinks about it, he will realize that he has not considered the public opinion. Realizing the need of the hour also impacts this situation. It is the duty of the media to give the appropriate yet important information. It could be the case where the nation has major events that need to be covered instead of the climate.

Additionally, I would like to ask what sample space was used to come to such a conclusion. It gives rise to a question: Are the complaints registered by the viewers who only like to watch the weather news? How much percentage of the total viewers face a similar issue?

Moreover, we also know that the businessmen would always retreat to a place where they find profit. But how do we know that the advertising contracts were canceled only because of devoting less time to the weather and local news?

Similarly, can we guarantee that restoring the earlier time slots for the designated news might attract more customers? There might be a competitor television program that runs parallelly on another channel that is attracting more viewers and that could have been the issue.

However, the advertisement revenues are a vital source of funding, also the customer might be used to the usual timings which will surely avoid further cutoffs. The current trends in India and Indonesia show that vocal for local is on everyone's mind.

In conclusion, one must understand that there are ups and downs in every business but the manager must understand that the organization which values its customers the most and keeps an eye on the critics is the one that undoubtedly succeeds in every context.