"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

The author recommends that the use of nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds in order to lower abstenteeism. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. Thus, to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the author presumes that the nutritional supplement derived from fish oil can be found ubiquitously. Perhaps, these supplements are so rare and are much very expenshive which a common individual cannot buy it. One the other hand, the author has not presented reliable data regarding the fish populaton. It is possible that in order to get supplement, human will destroy the entire habitat of the fish. If the fishes are in low number then this recommendation can be fatal to the eco-system.

Second of all, the author assumes that higher fish consumption was the only reason behind lower absenteeism in schools and workplaces nearby East Meria. It is possible that there may be other factor which is contributing healthy environment. For example, the air quality and health facilities. It is possible that it was due to the effective health care system. If this was the case, then it significantly weakens the author's recommendation.

Third of all, the writer assumes that the reason given by most absentees is true. Perhaps, the absentees are unhappy with the working environment in their office and pretending that they were sick due to the cold. In school as well, it is possible that higher absence is because of the presence impolite and demotivating teachers. If this was the case then the writer's recommendation doesn't hold water.

In sum, although evidences provided by the author sounds great, these evidences are insufficient and unclear to reach the conclusion made by the author. Thus, without these especific evidences above, I'm not convinced with the author's recommendation. If the assumption above were clearly mentioned in the argument, it may help the author to boost his conclusion.