“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this proposal to prolong the time for weather and local news to its former level made an interesting argument but still defective. The author believes that if the manager of this televesion station did so, the viewer to the program would increase and the revenue from advertising would stop declining. That sounds plausible while the evidence the author listed were not relative enough to bolster this claim. The reason are as follows.

To begin with, the proposer claimed that during the period of new time schedule of the late-night program, the television station received large amount of viewer’s complaints to the coverage of weather and local news by presenting the fact that most of the complaints are related to this. But the evidence is vague and lack of detail. The amount of the complaints is unknown. If there are few viewers complained about this arrangement, it is absurd to say that this new adaption isn’t reasonable. Instead, it is successful for just getting minor disagreement.

What’s more, the writer assumed that the change in late-night news program will decrease the income from advertising by mentioning the dwindling advertising contracts with local business, which is ,however, of low relevance to what the author tried to convince the manager. The advertising corporation with local businesses are just part of the income of advertising, there are many sources for the tv station to choose, which were overlooked by the author. Losing the support of local business dosen’t necessarily lead to the reduce of revenue. If the oversea company love this program and are willing to reach an agreement with tv station and put lots of advertisement into this time period, the influence of losing local businesses would be negligible.

Last but now least, the time arrangement may not be the radical reason for this unpromising consequence. The success of a program, relies on varies of factors, and the length of time is not a decisive one. Why not considering the quality of the national news instead of blaming the manager for change the previous status. Change means innovation, that can bring new possibility of a promising future. If the tv station grasp the opportunity to improve the content of national news, this program will also arrest audience’s attention and win more advertising revenue.

In conclusion, this proposal is tenuous and need more thorough consideration. More detail is needed to justify the claim.