Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument presented by the author here is quite flawed.

It relies on apocryphal assumptions that may not hold merit when examined. There are three main assumptions that the argument relies on.

Firstly, the author tries to justify consumption of bone broth using the "anecdotal" evidence that people who consumed bone broth actually have experienced healing of cartilage joints. It contributes the healing solely to the consumption of bone broth and not to any other factors that could have influenced the people's health. Any factor could have influenced this "healing" effect that is observed in these people and since it cannot be proved in a manner that is veritably acceptable, this is a flawed assumption to base an argument on.

Secondly, the author posits that the ancient humans actually chose to consume bone broth in a consious effort to improve their health and actually had an archaic knowledge about the human physiology that encouraged them to do so. This is a highly optimistic assumption on the author's part. It is to be noted that ancient men had little to no medical skills and their eating habits were influenced by the environment that they resided in. It is possible that ancient hunters tended to salvage bones of animals and use them in any concoction that they used to consume. Hence it cannot be veritably that ancient men actually chose to consume bone broth due to their knowledge about human physiology

Thirdly, the author in the last line states that emulating the eating habits of ancient men actually will enable us to cure many chronic diseases. This is an assumption that does not hold merit as of now. As the diet is only exhorted by fanatics who follow the diet and there is no actual scientific evidence that proves it improves human health. Hence until a study or data analytical method can prove this statement by the author, it shall remain as yet another assumption made by the author to encourage espousing the Paleo diet.

Hence to for the author's claim to be proves true, further evidence is required. This could be offered by a study that monitors and examines the health of people that follow the diet. Only after such an effort offers its result to us can we truly know if the author's claims are indeed valid.