Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Ideas are our gateways to legacies. Once an idea has been incepted, it is rarely that a man wont act on it. Especially when it comes to eccentric or novel ideas, men tend to see it through to the end. But often they are in this journey of making their ideas a reality, they are accompanied and infact harried by gratuitous criticism. This has been the case for many legends, but crossing this stream of doubt and critics often makes their journey's comparable to a legend. I do agree with the prompt and there are multiple reasons as to why i take this position.

It seems almost in a custom in this world that any idea when first exposed to people other than its initial owner, it is raided by criticism by people. This is the case especially when involving any novel concept, a risk that the person wants to take etc. Everyone tends to take a safe position and tries to deter the person from chasing after this idea that they had. But almost every time, this kind of criticism stems out of fear rather than actual fallacy in the idea. For example, when a student tries to drop out of college to pursue his entrepreneurial dreams, he might be criticized by his parents and almost everyone who knows him for giving up a 'safe route' to a good life.

A similar case has been observed in many great figures in recent history. For example, Elon musk was discouraged to invest in tesla and spaceX after Paypal was sold by him. His peers adviced him to live a peaceful life with the fortune he had attained instead of sabotaging it. But despite this barrage of discouragement he met with, he decided to go ahead and start two new companies effectively rendering him in debt at the that moment. But today we see him as the owner of multiple successful firms and a great figure in the field of Science and Technology. All because he did not pay attention to the criticism, but decided that he would rather see his idea implemented and than just refrain from it.

It is also to be noted that these criticisms are not a one time flood, but rather they are a continuous stream, that one must prevail through. And indeed when their idea is finally implemented and good, their stories become one of a legend's. This is observed in the cases of Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg, Alva Edison etc. The perseverance is what adds merit to these stories and places the people who infact are brave enough to take their ideas and turn into reality in hall of fame that is ideal for legends.

However some skeptics might argue that criticism indeed exists to evaluate ideas effectively and understand the fallacies present in it. But examining the people who offer these criticisms, you tend to understand that they worried about the person rather than the idea.Hence their critique is rather emotional than cerebral. Of course any person capable of sound logic and reasoning will not turn a deaf ear to criticism that is constructive. This can indeed enhance their ideas and change their course of action. But it is better that people ignore criticisms that are directed toward them for having an idea, and unfortunately, when the someone does have an idea, it seems the world is flush with gratuitous criticism for him/her. But getting through this is in fact part of the journey for any 'legend' capable of a legacy.

In conclusion, it can be definitely said that people who tend to see their ideas through regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a legacy behind.