Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The given argument has a number of unwarranted assumptions. The assumptions being both generations having similar lifestyle and the food that was available several generations before is the same what we have today.

The argument assumes that the lifestyle, what early hominids has, is what we have today. Diet plan is most importantly influenced by one's lifestyle. Diet of a construction worker and a scientist is definitely not the same, with former requiring the larger amount of carbohydrates in his diet. Even if, we assume that the lifestyle of our hominids is similar to present generation's humans, the argument does not comment anything on why the present generation has more metabolic and inflammatory diseases.

The argument takes another unwarranted assumption that the resources, in terms of food, which were available to our hominids are similar to the resources we have today. Situation can be that today we have much better resources, and the diet one is having today suits one's immune system best and proves better at protecting us from the diseases. Even if we assume the available resources are similar, the arguments foes not say anything about the resources equally beneficial for the humans today.

The argument fails to take into account the differences in the lifestyle of the two different generations and the resources being equally helpful.