Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given paragraph of information on paleo diets fails to convince us of its credibility. It is based on the critically flawed assumption that ancient and modern humans are fundamentally the same and thus will benefit from the same diet.

As mentioned in the argument, Proponents refer to "these types" of food in favour of the Paleo Diet. This is inherently flawed as it gives us no information regarding the source of the foods, the nutrients they provide or even their availability today. It’s absurd to assume that all plant or animal based food that was derived by the early humans will be available today. The single example given of the bone broth further weakens the argument. Cooking of the bone for several hours specifies no method of cooking. If, for example, they were to be grilled instead of boiled to bring out the benefits, they might turn out to be more harmful without the proper techniques. Even if we have the information about the these said types of foods, be able to obtain them, and prepare them appropriately there is no evidence that proves they will benefit us in the same way as our ancestors. The argument cites strong anecdotal evidence to strengthen the argument in favour of the Paleo diet. However, there is no evidence that validates the credibility of these anecdotes. A story passed across generations is bound to have some of its facts glorified for the sake of storytelling, thus not accounting for its scientific validity. Moreover, there may be some aspects of the anecdotes that may be missing or modified, as the story progresses from mind to mind. To base an entire diet change on mere anecdotal evidence is absurd and invalid.

Despite all these inconsistencies, the biggest flaw of the argument is the lack of evidence that it provides in reference to the ancient humans. As humans have evolved, their physical and mental activities, their living conditions and their energy profiles have changed drastically. The same foods that were probably chosen for their high energy content in ancient times, may prove to be detrimental to the health of modern humans, leading to even obesity and other related disorders. Moreover, Modern humans may or may not have developed the immunity required to benefit from the diet, thus actually acting counterproductive.

The foundation laid by this argument is weak, and baseless. It calls for a deep insight into the differences between ancient and modern humans, and proven scientific evidence to back itself.