Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To lead, is to not only show authority over a group of people, but also to understand and take into consideration the needs and expectations of our subordinates. However, any decision, taken by any association, is a culmination of the discussions and harmony of the group, rather than the whims of just one person the leader. I agree with the given prompt, that the respect of one's peers is a more valuable asset than sound moral judgement.

Any group of people will look up to their leader for motivation and guidance. However, when the same leader is not able to convey these to the team, it creates a breeding ground for dissatisfaction. For example, if a President to a cabinet of ministers in a country were to empower his subordinates to take strong decisions, and motivate them by gaining their respect, it would create a more conducive environment for the workings of a government, whatever their stands on moral issues be. A united team, with a mutual respect for authority, will function smoothly, and may even lead to better policy making. If the same figure head were to let go of the feelings of his peers, and rather hold his moral grounds, possibly whims and fancies, above everything, it will act to be counterproductive. Ministers will be dissatisfied with a lack of unity in decisions and thus, might demotivate them from even trying to do their jobs well. Thus, a lack of respect towards a leader may lead to dissatisfaction and hence, a lower output from a team.

A dissatisfied group is an open call for betrayal. It is only natural for a person to search for avenues of approval and motivation, when its own authoritatve field stands against it. In this search for satisfaction somewhere else, treachery is an inevitable outcome. A football player, who does not believe his or her coach to be worthy of his respect, will look at other sources of encouragemnt, possibly from coaches of other teams. A lack of understanding with his or her own teacher, might push him to betray his own team and join the forces of the opposition. Hence, a to gain the respect of your peers is to ensure their loyalties towards you, irrespective of your stance on the issue. A lack of respect, and loyalties morphs immediately into betrayal.

It is a fact that just the respect of your peers does not ensure that your decisions are always right. Your team may be united in an unethical front, while you try to convince them of your moral front. Nonetheless, if you do not already have the reverence of your team, it is a slim possibility that they will abandon their beliefs and join your boat. If, however, they respect you and your decisions, they are more likely to take your view seriously and contemplate if they might themselves be wrong.

Being a leader is an amalgamation of infinite qualities. I doubt there is a single human who has the perfect formula for being a leader. However, I have come to believe that a leader who earns the respect of his peers, is far more likely to succeed even in the most outlandish of decisions, than one, who without even a semblance of respect, tries to push his own moral standing onto others.