Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument take into account several assumptions to conclude that paleo diets have healing properties. The argument is completely based on beliefs and lacks any experimental evidence which renders the conclusion made by it to be invalid. To maintain the legitimacy of it's claim there must be some research studies to support the benefits of the paleo diet with the correct control set up.

The other important assumption for the argument would be to assume that hominids and Homo sapiens are completely identical, which they are not. The two groups could differ in behaviour, anatomy and physiology. So, the diet would have absoluetly have a different effect in different species. Additionally, the pathogens that the current human species come in contact with are completely different from the ancient ones which used to infect the hominids. Therefore, the immunity that one needs to fight the infection would be completely different due to the fast evolving microbes.

The anecdotal evidence is also a major assumption for the argument. The study which provides this evidence could be very limited in terms of the number of subjects. It could also be representing a minute and homogenous fraction of a population. These subjects won't have any variation in terms of their food habits, occupation, physical activity and also their genetic material and thus the results would be totally biased. As the results of fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases could just be due to good and healthy genes thereby providing them with good immune system or just because they don't experience the disease causing pathogens in their environment.

The stated argument fails to provide evidences and the assumptions that it considers is absurd.