Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A group of people can bring about a big change only in the guidance of a great leader. The leader is the one which shapes the decision of the group and leads them to success. So, the representative of the group should have some basic qualities to lead the group. There are several leadership skills, but there are some which are necessary and sufficient to become a great leader. One of them is respecting his peers which is necessary to lead and convince his pupils. But the ability of making a sound moral judgement is highly important and absolutely necessary for leadership.

There are times when a group of people become so furious that they decide to take the violent path to express their views, which could have devastating effects. At these crucial moments it is the duty of the leader to come forward and explain his pupils the repercussions of their actions instead of letting them do what they want. A great example of this would be the great leader Mahatma Gandhi who always guided his people towards the path on non-violence and non-cooperation for the fight against the British rule. Gandhi ji was quite successful in his campaign and helped India to gain independence with minimum violence even when some people wanted to opt the violent path. Therefore, a good decision by a leader could help to solve a problem peacefully and thus prevent unnecessary violence. Moreover, a sound moral judgement by a leader could also help to gain his peers' respect and admiration in the long term.

Also, the leader must be able to respect his people and must understand that his power relies in their faith. Taking his people for granted will dissolve the group and their strength too. So, to hold the group together in desperate times the leader must choose to take the side of his people instead of confronting them.

Finally, one could say that the leader must respect his or her peers but the quality of making a sound moral judgement is of utmost importance for his leadership.