Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument relies on multiple assumptions but does not provide sufficient evidance for these assumptions. It argues that ancient humans had more physiological knowledge than us and we should follow their lifestyle and eating habits to cure chronic illnesses. However, the passage fails to provide convincing proof to support this claim.

The passage states that the proponets of the paleto diet claim our bodies evolved to eat food similar to what hominids used to eat. It mentions bone broth as an example. However, no evidance is presented anywhere to back the claim that humans evolved to eat this specific type of food. It might be the case that this type of food was readily available and was easy to prepare with minimal effort, which resulted in hominids eating them. Furthermore, to prepare bone broth, hominids would have to have access to fire. However, humans evolved a long time before they discovered fire. Hence, its unlikely that humans would evolve to eat any type of cooked food at all. Had the pasage cited some scientific study that studied the relation of this type of food with the evolution of hominids, the argument could have been convincing.

Another leap of logic the passage performs is that hominids are not the same as modern day humans. Even if hominds did evolve to digest food like bone broth highly efficiently, that still does not mean it would also be suitable for humans. Evolution is an ongoing process. Modern day humans might be very different from what hominids used to be. Thus, the dietary requirements of modern humans might be very different than what hominids used to require. Even if the passage had demonstarted that dietary needs of ancient hominds correlates to modern day humans, the question wheather regular foods consumed by ancient hominids is in fact the most efficient way to ingest the necessary food value present in the food. If the same food elemnets presnet in the bone broth can be ingested through some modern, more easy to prepare food, then tehre would be no need to ingest the same exact meals our ancestors lived off of.

Even if ancient hominds ingested food that is highly optimal and benificial for us, one cannot draw the concolusion that ancient hominids knew anything at all about their own physiology. It might have been that they were just eating the food the found most easily. There is no evidance that can point to the fact that they were chosing their food consciously to fit their needs. Even if they did know what they were doing, there is no reason to blindly follow their lifestyle to cure chronic illnesses as teh passage suggests. There is no reason to assume hominids didnt suffer from chronic illnesses. Even if they didnt, it could have been due to a lot of reasons. One of them might be that ancient humans rarely lived long enough to suffer chonic illnesses. The passage simply failes to show strong evidance in support of its claims that ancient hominids didnt suffer from chonic illnesses and that their lifestyle had anything to do their lack of sufferring from chonic illnesses. And even if hominds' lifestyle helped them livbe a healthier life, it still might not work for modern day human. This is simply because modern day humans might just be too different from them.

For all these reason, i believe the argument presented in not convincing and holds numerous flaws.