Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader shows the way for his/her peers to achieve a certain goal. When it comes to achieving goals, a leader's capability of attaining respect from followers is far more important than his/her moral judgement. A charsimatic and well respected leader is more likely to have a group of followers who believe in the leader and will do most things the leader asks them to do wholeheartedly. If the followers respect the leader, they are more likely to beileve in his/her end-goals and the means to achieve those goals.

When taksed with achieveing an objective, a group of people who believe in the said objective are more likely to succede. And for that, they need a leader who they can believe in, whom they can draw inspiration from. If the leader can draw respect from his/her people, they are more likely to believe in his/her vision. This will result in them believing in the objective. Which will lead to them striving for success. For example, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman led the people of Bangladesh to freedom in less than a month. The immense amount of respect the general peaple held for him led to them risking their lives to join the fight in response to his call. His moral character didnt matter here. What mattered was that he succeeded in achiving his people's respect.

When a leader asks his followerd to perform a difficult task, they are more likely to do it if they respect him/her. This is important becasue achiving any great feat grenerally requires a great deal of sacrifice. People tend to hesistate sacrifing when someone they dont like/respect asks it of them. However, people can go to great lengths for people whom they do respect. This is evidant in historical accounts of wars. Often company full of soldiers would march towards certain death beacuse of the huge amount of respect they possess for their commander. Often victory in the battlefield would hinge on which commander was more charismatic.

Achieving victory usually requires a leader to take hard decisions. This sometimes means a leader who can take morally questionable decisions to win. For example, to end world war II, the allies had to take a morally quesitionalble decision of dropping two atomic bombs on two big cities full of civilians. Unquestionably, that decision ended the war, bringing the allies a victory. But a 100% moral person might have not taken the decision to sacrifice civillian lives. This is why for a leader, moral judgement can sometimes prove to be costly.

However, a leader should not be completely morally bankrupt. If a leader is well respected but has no morality, they might use their followers to commit serious crimes for their own selfish reasons. Adolf Hitler was well respected by his followers during World War II. But his moral bankrupcy allowed him to use his followers to commit some of the worst crimes against humanity ever documented in history.

I believe a leader should have the capability to foster respect from his followers. If the leader is not respected, he/she will not be able to get their followers to do anything. However, a morally bankrupt leader can bring about disaster.