"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author recommends that the profits of Dura-socks can be increased if the company abandons use of the Endure manufacturing process. The authors presents two pieces of evidence to bolster his argument. First, the average customers purchases new Dura-Socks every three months so they are not very much concerned about the durability aspect of the product. Second, a customer survey reveals that the customers most value Dura-Socks's stylish appearances and availability in many colors. However, the evidence presented do not fully lead to a cogent argument that profit will increase by discontinuing use of Endure manufacturing process. The argument rests weakly on several assumptions which are are detailed in the rest of this essay.

The authors cites the result of a study which shows that the average customer purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. The author assumes that customers are not very concerned about the durability of the product (that socks lasts for two years). There can be myriad reasons why customers are buying new socks every three months. Perhaps, they get bored with one color or type of socks and want to try something different. Or worse, perhaps the socks are not lasting for more than three months, contrary to the expectations that it will lasts for two years. We need to know the exact reason why customers are changing socks every three months. If the durability of current Dura-socks (using Endure manfacturing process) is actually three months then abandoning the use of Endure manfucaturing process might reduce the durability of the socks to unacceptable levels.

The author also fails to consider the possible side-effects of discontinuing the use of Endure manfufacturing process. Perhaps, in addition to it's effect on the durability of the product, this change might lead to some unexpected changes in the product itself. For instance, it might affect the comfortability of wearing the socks. Maybe the performance of socks in terms of ease of cleaning might get diminished. All these possibilities have to be ruled out before we can make a convincing case for eliminating the use of Endure process.

Finally, the author assumes the sales of the product will not decrease after implementing the new policy. The author is wrong to believe that the profits will go up if the company is able to cut down the cost of manufacturing the product. But profit depends on sales as well. Maybe after abandoning the Edure process, the company will lose it's loyal customers and hence sales might diminish, which would decrease the profits. The author cites the survey which reveals that their customers most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors but it is not clear whether customers value Dura-Socks appearances in comparison to other Socks manufacturing companies. Perhaps, customer most value high durability of Dura-socks which is not offered by other companies. If this is the case, then the plan to discontinue Edure process is imprudent as it might lead to decline in sales.

It is possible that Dura-Socks might actually increase it's profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process. However, there are many assumptions on which the argument rests weakly and if the assumptions do not hold true, the managers of Dura-socks might be find themselves in shock with decline in profits.