Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt claims that we can usually learn much more from like-minded people than from those whose views contradict our own because disagreement can cause tension, demotivation and impede learning. The given claim is highly contentious because different people may have disparate positions or opinions on the topic. Some may go for the topic while others cannot argue with it at all. I agree with the given claim that we can usually learn much more from the people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. The reasons and examples supporting my position are presented in the following paragraphs.

Learning from people who share the same views is much more effective and motivating than others who have different views this is because, with people who have the same views, we are very interested to discuss in many different scenarios; we can share different knowledge in the good environment because our school of thought is same. This can be convinced by my personal experience. When I was in higher secondary class, I had a friend whose way to think and opinions regarding different scenarios were similar to mine so it makes me discuss in more detail and we share very depth knowledge between us which led us to research that topic and gathered more knowledge. It cannot be denied that we cannot learn from people who have different views than us. However, we can learn much more from the people who share the same view, the evidence and example above support it.

Once, Ram mentioned in his biography that he learned so many skills from his friend who has similar thoughts to his. He mentioned that once in the library he met his friend from another section; Ram was reading the political books and at the same time another friend was also reading the political books. After leaving the library they discussed the topic they read in the library, and after sharing their learning they found the same views on the subject matter. Later they used to go to the library and read different books and share the learning and knowledge they read. He mentioned that due to the same views, they learn many theories and evidence about political change and history. Ram may indeed learn from other people who have a different view but the evidence and example show that he learned more with a friend who has the same views.

Many may argue that we can learn from people who have contradictory views of us. While it is true that we can learn from people who have contradictory views to us, we cannot learn much more than from people who have the same views because we can disagree with people who have different opinions and disagreement can cause demotivation, and tense and may impede learning.

To sum up, as per mentioned reasons and examples above, we can learn more from people who have the same school of thought and views.