A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the article, the suggests that a prediction of decreasing headache in the future according to the issued study. However, the argument is rife with holes and some questions have to be addressed to strengthen the argument.

The author claims that Salicylates as a food addictive is a member of same chemical family as aspirin as headache remedy and implies that it has the same function as aspirin. The author needs to answer if Salicylates does have headache treatment effect of credibly clinic study? Does it has any credible evidence showing that the effective remedy to headache? Because even their chemistry factors are almost the same, it doesn’t mean they have the same function or effectiveness. For instance, the alcohol, could be made as a wine to drink or a product to kill bacteria and the latter one is obviously inedible. Therefore, we can’t say Salicylates works as aspirin that could treat headache as well if the medical mechanism is unknown.

Even if Salicylates is really effective as aspirin as implied in the article, the author proposes that fewer patients reported less headache during twenty years studying because more Salicylates added into the processed food and therefore mitigates the headache in the long run. It could be true because there are solid studying reports incorporating consistent diet within twenty years and considerable treatment groups are involved in the experiments with adequate control groups. Still, the author needs to answer the detail of questions, the background and the detail of their diet of participants in the studying. Because, there are many factors which could lead to the phenomenon as declination in headache and the diet habit has been obviously changed in last twenty years, we are not sure if any other factors influencing the presented results. For example, there are more and more people becoming health-conscious and they have changed their diet to more health type, less oil and more vegetable recently. Moreover, they don’t eat processed food which containing Salicylates at all since they’re aware of the danger of the processed food. Therefore, people become healthier and less headache recently. The writer needs to answer the detail questions to make the argument more convincing.

Additionally, the author declares that some health experts predict the residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headache in the future, still, do these health experts have the capabilities to do the prediction? Because we don’t know the detail and the background of “health experts”. Certainly, there experts may really be capable of predicting the future trend since they’re from authoritative institutions and made a lots of publications in the top credible journals, then we’re confident that the results are trustable. However, they could just exaggerate their talent and declare experts as themselves. In reality, there are just graduating from schools without adequate experience about the health stuff as well as not familiar with the chemistry or medicine things. Therefore, the readers could not believe in the content of the argument unless the author provide the counterpart information about the experts.

In conclusion, the writer needs to answer the questions mentioned above to make the argument more cogent.