"In any enterprise, the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product."

In any business the client is at the centre and the king. He is the final judge of the product or service which an enterprise provides to him. According to the principles of total quality management, if the company or an organization works towards increasing the quality of their product or the services than their final product which is receive by the customer would be of higher grade and of good quality than their competitor. So, I totally agree that the process to achieve the final product is more important than the final product itself.

First, if the enterprise follows the industrial standards to maintain the quality of their products by using high quality raw materials, latest machines, and skilled workers, then the product would automatically be good. Let's understand this by taking an example:

There are two manufacturing companies say A and B. Company A uses high quality raw materials, have latest machine and skilled workers and the company B uses cheaper quality of raw materials and machine and unskilled workers to reduce its manufacturing cost. As the result the selling price of product produce by company B would be cheaper than the product of company A. The customer would be attracted and tempted buy the product of company B, and they would grow in the market, but this would last only few days, and once the word comes out that the product B is not of the good quality the customer would shift to company A, product.

If the enterprise focus on the increasing their productivity and process of making or doing something they do not have to focus on the final product as it would automatically would be of higher grade and would come to their expectation. If the company uses high quality raw materials than the cost of break down would reduce and their would be smooth process of the production. Latest machine would require less maintenance cost and this would reduce the time of producing a product and increase optimization.

When a company shifts to the principle of total quality management their cost of producing a product would increase but this would be easily be covered as their product would sell faster and their clients would also grow. When the customer receives a good quality of product and he is happy with service there would be a good mouth of the company and the customer would become loyal customer of that company. A local customer would increase the profit of the company and according to a study to attract new customer would be 5% costlier than retaining the loyal customer.

We can see many real life example where the enterprise focus on the process of their making pr doing something than their final product. One of such example would be Xero cooperation. When the company started to lose the market share due to Janpanese competitor they stared to follow the TQM principals and this resulted in increase of their income and profit. Now the Xerox has become so famous that the people say give me one xerox of the page instead of a photocopy. So, it is important to focus on the work and process rather than the final product.