In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author of the passage is making unjust claims based upon faulty reasoning to come to conclusion that thr city government should devote more money in riverside recreational facilities.

Firstly the author has completely failed to mention regarding the survey which concluded that water sports is considered as favourite among their recerational activities as their is no specific information about the count of the people in survey neither we know when the survey was conducted. Furthermore the passage assumes that survey was conducted among the group of young members of society as elderly people might not be interested in swimming or boating.

Furthermore the author claims that the Mason river is hardly used for pursuits without any feasible reasoioning. The river might be polluted with the factory waste ejected from nearyby areas or the river might be overpolluted with checmicals, we are not clear about such rarely usages of Mason River. Neverthelesss the author claims that city part departments devotes little of its budget to maintain recreational facilities, the author here completely fails to consider that the economy of the mason city might be in harsh state or the city park department might have ssuffered some kind of financial crises. The passage further claims that there have been complaints from the residents regarding the quality of water and the water smell, chances that very few people might be complaining such issues or each individual complains the same issue is surely unknown.

Furthermore high growth of algae or release of drainage water from nearby slums migth also produce such kind of pungent smell. The author further claims that the state has acconunced plans to clean up Mason river, author here fails to consider the economical situation of the state, Nevertheless we don't have any information regarding the plans announced by the state whether those plans will be executed monthly or on annually basis. Based upon the above faulty author further concludes that the use of Mason river for water sports is going o increase. Chances are that people might loose their interest in water sports or any nearby river migth get more popularity than Mason river the author completely ignores such cases. Despite such issues the author concludes thar thr city government should devote more money in the years budget to riverside recreational facilities. The city government might be in an financial crisis or might have completely ran out of the annual budget in city planning. The author completey disregards such cases.

To conclude with the author of the passage has made a wide range of assumption based upon faulty reasioning to conclude the fact that state should contribute more money in riverside recreational facilities so that more people would happily enjoy water sports. A wide careful exploration reagrding various aspects should be conducted before making any such conclusion.