Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The author in given memorandum has made huge number of unwarranted assumption in concluding that time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level for the televison station to restore its contracts.

Firstly, the author claims that the time devoted to national news is increased over the past year. We don't have any specific figure to evaluate out that the time is increased neither does the passage provide any information regarding the increase of time among specific group of the people or the entire country as a whole. Moreover their might be possibility that the nation might be in huge crisis of greater significance due to which the time devoted to the national news might increase. Furthermore the author conveys that most of the complaints received were related to station's coverage of weather and local news. The passage completely fails to provide any specific details regarding the complaints as thier are chances that complaints might have been collected from a specific region in the city where most of the people are interested in weather and local news however the rest of the city might be more interested in the national news, we don't know. Nevertheless the author claims that local businessess have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. The author is providing faulty reasons to his claims as possibilities are that the local business might have been not doing well in thier business or thier might be some natural disaster which might have damaged their business to an greater extent forcing them to cancel thier contracts.

The author furthermore suggest that inorder to restrict loss of any further advertising revenues the television station should restore time devouted to weather and local news to its former level. However this claim is based upon faulty reasoning as chaces are that even after restore weather and local news time the local businesses might still continue to cancel thier contracts as they might have received an more reliable and cheaper vendor than the existing one. Furthermore local businesses might be suffering from recession due to which the might be cost cutting any costlier advertisement. The author completely fails to consider any such scenarios.

To conclude with the manager of the television station should analyse detailed aspects regarding the cause of losing contracts with the local advertisers also he should perform a detalied study regarding the complaints received from the viewers. Restoring the time devoted to weather and local news irrespective of considering the alternative factor is however not advantageous to the teleivison station.