“Twenty years ago, Dr Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centred approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centred method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

The author of the article asserts that the interview-centered method on the island of Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions contrary to the observation-centered method used by Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, twenty years ago. Recent Interviews with children living in Tertia signify that these children spend most of the time talking about their biological parents. For the assertion of the author to be evaluated correctly, the following three questions have to be answered in a clear way.

Is the Island of Tertia similar to other islands in terms of culture? The author has stated that the method is recently used on the island of Tertia and can be used to study the cultures of other islands too. Different islands have different cultures and traditions and have their own way of living life. For the author's assumption to be true, the culture of all the islands must be similar which may not be possible due to several circumstances such as geography, tradition, and belief. Etc.

Are the Majority of children on the island of Tertia Interviewed? For the observation-centered method to be accurate in drawing the conclusion, the majority of the children on the Tertia have to be interviewed. The behavior of children within the Tertia may markedly vary, some may spend the most time talking about their biological parents whereas some may spend most of the time talking about other adults in the village. If the majority of the children are interviewed, then only the accuracy of the observation can be confirmed.

Is Time spent with children enough to know that they spend most of the time talking about their biological parents? Interviewing the children for a limited time may not figure out an efficacious conclusion regarding the behavior of children. To confirm that the children spend most of the time talking about their biological parents, one has to spend enough time interviewing with children.

The statement that the interview-centered method of understanding child-rearing culture, as it stands now, is flawed. The evidence given in the article are not enough to draw a conclusion. The three questions must be properly answered to prove that the statement holds true.