Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

it is stated that the palean basket is not uniquely palean because of nonappearance of palean boats. The author has come to this conclusion based on the assumption that ancient paleans used palean boat as a transportation mode. The geological information is mentioned that the village is across the brim river and brim river is deep and broad, the ancient paleans used to cross it only by boat. However, before this recommendation can be fully evaluated, below questions must be answered.

First of all, is it comparable the absence of palean boat and evidence of woven basket in vicinity of the prehistoric village of palea? In other words, the clue of a particular distinctive palea woven basket pattern is sufficient to relate the unavailability of paleans boat? perhaps- it is possible that the paleans boat may be rotten after a decade. The author does not take into account that some natural calamity was responsible for the nonexistence of palean boat. Further, there is a possibility that after few years, paleans found out an alternate route. if either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn is significantly weakened.

Secondly, how did the woven baskets reach to immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of palea? perhaps, it is possible that the village palea was involved in trading of woven baskets. The archaeologists discovered the proof of a particular distinctive palea woven basket style. it is a less likely to believe that the palea villagers and its vicinity had the same skills and characteristics in making woven baskets. The author ignores the possibility that the palea villagers skill was demanded and they may want to share their knowledge in order to flourish and thrive. if the above assumptions are true, then the authors conclusion does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author fails to consider that the ancient paleans could have migrated to other locations in search of job or any other purpose. these people could have been carried the woven basket which is significantly known for palean's authentic work. The authors argument is relies on the assumptions for which no evidence has been given.

The argument as it holds now, is considerable flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the visibility of the proposed conclusion. Without additional information, there isn't much reason to believe on conclusion that the palean basket were not uniquely palean.