Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the rapid growth of innovations, its influence is imperative in every fields. In fact, there is no denying that it has been touching every day life of an individuals, society and educational institutions, to name a few. In the given prompt, it is claimed that though, innovations such as videos, computer and internet seem, in some way, to improve the teaching methodology, for the most part, distract from real learning. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this assertion and argue that with the right use of innovations, students and schools can surely benefit to a greater extent for three reasons.

To begin, the use of videos and internet for a pedagogical purpose can help the teachers to illustrate some complex ideas, which otherwise would have been difficult to visualize, to the students. Use of such interactive materials can bolster one’s cognition to get more engaged in the content. For instance, the concept of planets revolving around the sun is an elusive one when viewed relative to our position on planet. Even our most sage ancestors were deceived by this concept. But with the use of the animation showing the planets revolving around the sun and how we perceive the other way, it can be easily seen this counter intuitive concept is relatively an easy one. This example illustrates that the concepts which requiring ‘seeing is believing’ are more easily demonstrated through the use of visuals.

Further, the use of internet has made valuable learning resources accessible to everyone in every corner of the world. One can remotely learn the theory, attend the lectures if he/she has an access to internet. Most of these are open resource. For instance, MIT OCW (Open Courseware) is an open lecture, notes, assignments, a high-quality educational material from one of the top universities of the world is free and accessible to everyone. Many other schools can adapt the methodology of these contents and use it for better learning of the students. Likewise, You Tube had some of the best educational contents in the world and anyone willing to learn can get the knowledge from it. It wouldn’t have been possible in the pre-internet era. We are no more limited in the resources and the quality, we just need a right mind to search for it.

Of course, some argue that these technologies too often distract for real learning, which might be the case in an unsupervised environment for an student. Learning takes an effort of a mind, and human beings tends to avoid this effort and internet has also lots of distraction. Therefore, a students must be supervised during learning. Thus, with this ever-burgeoning use of technology it is crucial to use them in a right way, transforming local into global exposure, exchanging the knowledge and discovering new ways for improving the learning and teaching experience in the schools.