The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument, the business manager of the television station concludes that in order to improve the decling viewers number and avoiding withdrawal of the local advertisers, 'they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news', citing it as a major reason for such plummet. However, the manager's conclusion is based on some illogical claim and it not coherent for the conclusion.

Firstly, the author assumes that the decling of the viewer is corelated with the decrease in the less broadcast time on weather and local news. It is probable that the viewers has shifted into internet for the news. Or, may be, viewers have shifted to some other tv channel, which might had a good daily content.

Second, cancelling of advertising contracts by local business, might be due to many other reasons. It is possible that these business had shifted their marketing policy to other social media platforms. There lacks a clear evidence for any such claims.

Third, it is claimed that the compliants received were concerned with coverage of weather and local news but it says nowhere that these complaints were about less coverage. May be, these complaints were about the quality of presentation. There is no any concrete data for accounting the number of viewers and the number of complaints received.

Therfore the bussiness manager needs to answer all above questions before reaching the conclusion. He/She shall be more specific in the reasons for the recent decline of the last