Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader's moral judgement is as much important as his or her ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In any team, the team's leader is required to make decisions that will decide the course in which the team's activity (or project) will proceed. Many at times the decisions that is taken by a leader, how much ever benificial the decision may be to the team, will also have a moral impact, to both, the team members and the the external environment. Thus the leader needs to thread lightly and consider all the possible consequences for his or her actions, before any decision is made.

For instance, if any army general is ordered to purge all the a group of terrorists, who are hiding inside a basement of a hospital, the general needs to re-evaluate his options before passing any orders to his soldiers. Because, if his unit proceeds with the attack on terrorists, there exists a possibility that his team might accidently injure, if not kill an innocent civilian during the operation. But if the general decides upon to abort his mission in fear of injuring or killing a civilian, he might lose the confidence of some of his soldiers, who believed that they could eliminate the all terrorists without any civilian casualty. In this situation, it is quite clear that the general has found himself in cross roads of decisions. The general's decision needs to be balanced, with moral judgement and safety of civilains weighing on one side a balance while his mission and hence the respect of his soldiers weighing on the other side.

Further more, there does exists cases, where a leader's moral judgement itself inspires respect of his or her peers, where the team members recognize the true intentions of their leader. So, if a leader is able to succefully convince his peers, the moral reasons behind his or her decision, the leader recieves full support from the team and he or she also becomes a good model for his or her team members. However, such instances does not occur at all times. Thus a leader needs to always find out an optimal solution for the problems he or she needs to solve, which maintains an equlibrium of both, moral responsibility and the goal of the team (hence the respect from his or her peers).

In conclusion, sound moral judgement is equally important as the ability of a leader to inspire his or her peers and maintain their respect.