Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

It is prudent that the the most important characteristic of an effective leader is to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Firstly, by ensuring that the leader gives his or her peers the due respect they deserve, it instills a sense of confidence amongst the peers. They will know that if anything goes wrong, their leader will stand right beside them. This bolsters a feeling of trust. If peers feel that their leader can trust them, the productivitity increases exponentially. Recent Harvard studies prove that in an organization if the boss gives their empoyees the respect they deserve, it not only increases the productivity but also makes the organization a great place to work.

Secondly, in case of any error by one of his or her peers, by maintaining the respect for those peers over a moral judgement, an effective leader can ensure that any errors in the future can be averted. This is because the employees/peers will feel that despite having committed a mistake, their leader stood up for them in front of a higher council and so they are very less likely to make a mistake in the future. Recently an intern from one of an OTT streaming corporation ended up sending a test email to all the consumers using the service. After the issue was reported on twitter by multiple users, the head of the organization issued a clarification that the test mail was sent mistakenly by an intern while he was exploring stuff and added that mistakes like these play an essential part in learning process of the employee and that they are glad that he chose to experiment stuff.

Hence, an effective leader's most important characteristic is to maintain the respect of his peers over moral judgement.