Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The people’s view on the purpose of education is multifarious, and consequently, the ramification of education is also debatable. Although some people think that formal education incarcerates people’s mind, I adamantly believe that formal education plays a crucial role in liberating people’s mind and spirit.

Granted, formal education was abused by those empowered to restrict people’s mind throughout the history. Blatant as it may sound, North Korea could be the epitome of this. In the beginning of the autocracy of Kim il-sung, he ordered some prominent scholars to invent “Juche-ism,” which is consequently infused to the students to brainwash them. Furthermore, Juche-ism was so sophisticated yet enticing that it proselytized many other foreigners and even South Korean congressman, inveigling them to insurge against South Korean government. Let alone this flagrant example, there are many cases throughout history where monarchs brainwashed their people by setting ideologies that justifies their governance as their national motto.

Despite the previous case, however, the contribution of formal education on liberating people’s mind and spirit cannot be underestimated. Take science, one of the pillars of modern society, as an example. It may sound ironical, but the shift of scientific paradigm is enabled by people who are conversant to the formal education; because the shift of scientific paradigm is the process of logically dismantling the previous paradigm, people should know well about the pre-shift paradigm through formal education. In addition to this historical example, the role of basic liberal arts and science that is taught in school through formal education should not be neglected.

In conclusion, despite the possible negative effect of formal education, I believe that formal education has a certain effect on freeing people’s mind and spirit. Therefore, the politicians should not overlook the impact of formal education when enacting laws pertinent to it.