Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Government is responsible for conducting the administration of a nation, representing a nation and working for the betterment of people and nation. It is the duty of the government to deal with the problems of the nation and its citizen, either that is of today or of tomorrow. The real test of the government, though lies in the hard times and unexpected times, the efficiency and effectiveness of the government are examined through the solution of present problems. Hence, I agree that the immediate problems should generally be prioritized but in some instances the anticipated problems of future should also be given equal or precedence importance.

The citizens are disturbed by the immediate problems; they require attention at present. For e.g. the aid to the calamities, the sudden elevation in price of basic foods, sudden disease outbreak, etc. which cannot be handled past present time should be dealt immediately. The rainy season is ongoing in Nepal and landslide and floods causing grave loss of lives and resources is common, Nepal is also an earthquake-prone nation. If the government decides to pass budget on building earthquake resistant building rather than for providing aid and relieve to the flood and landslide-affected people at present, the government will be castigated by all the people. Similarly, people in developing nations, where a majority of population lies below poverty might be heavily affected if such problems are kept too long.

The immediate problems, if not attended timely, can pose a great threat in the future. Let us consider a historical event of Nepal, the People’s Movement II. The scanty demands of the people for the democracy and their rights and freedom where ignored by the-then government of Nepal and ultimately Nepal faced 12-years long civil war killing over 15000 people which engulfed 250-year long monarchy of Nepal. Likewise, the shortage of safe drinking water, when ignored can cause the widespread transmission of water-borne diseases. Also, the immediate issue like shortage of job, when ignored in its initial stage can later manifest as a greater economic problem and lead to the situation such as increase in crime rate, disturbance of peace, and economic crisis of a nation.

Nonetheless, the immediate problems of today are the anticipated problems of the yesterday. Any event that is occurring at present is the result of certain events of yesterday hence if the anticipated problem’s cause at present is identified and dealt with, the problem can be minor otherwise, the anticipated problem can unfold as a grave threat. For instance, in the above mentioned example, the landslide and the flood does not occur at once, it takes time to build up the water and there are reasons like blockage of rivers, illicit constructions in the river corridors, deforestation, etc. that lead to the such grievous situation. If these anticipations were scrutinized and dealt in the past, then the reality of today could be different. Similarly, in the deadly earthquake of 2015 of Nepal, many old, non-renovated buildings and illegally constructed weak buildings were regarded as the cause of such a great loss, so such losses could have been prevented if government had taken proper measures to solve the anticipated problem of an earthquake-prone nation.

Wrapping up, the immediate problem is a major concern, however sometimes, when the anticipated problem unfolds in reality it is a great disaster so government should solve the immediate problems, but if the anticipated problems pose greater risk in the future, it should be dealt when the problem is in insipid stage.