A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are debates among educators whether the use of national curriculum rather than decentralized curriculum benefits more or not, and the author suggests that a nation should adopt centralized curriculum. However, it shall be argued that sticking to national curriculum has some disadvantages.

Admittedly, requiring all students to follow a centralized education curriculum has some advantages over decentralized curriculum. For one, it is easier to evaluate the students' academic performance before entering college, for every student has followed the same course of study. In a decentralized system where study materials differ from schools to schools, the levels of the curriculum may significantly vary, thus it is hard to determine the qualities of studies students have done so far. For example, many countries including South Korea and U.K. adopt national curriculum for most of the students, and high average academic performances of the students in South Korea proves the efficacy of such policy to some extent. Accordingly, requiring students to follow the same standardized curriculum has some obvious benefits.

However, the flaws and disadvantages of national curriculum cannot be overlooked. The potentials of students vary significantly; some very talented students easily follow the standard curriculum and are even capable of studying more advanced ones, whereas others have hard time understanding the basic materials. In such situation, a decentralized approach, where talented students are given more advanced education to further improve their potentials, and students falling back are given additional care to help them develop some basic skills and abilities, seems more effective. For example, many countries such as U.S. use decentralized curriculum, and such policy has been proven to be able to handle difficulties that arise from national curriculum. Even in aforementioned South Korea, there are many "Science high schools," in purpose to teach more advanced topics in mathematics and science to gifted students in those fields. As such, in many cases, the decentralized approach seems more plausible.

In conclusion, the assertion given by the author is formulated too extremely, since the benefits from decentralized education cannot be neglected. In fact, many countries such as South Korea adopt some kind of hybrid approach, in order to exploit the advatages from both centralized and decentralized ones. Perhaps the best solution is to use both of them, according to the education environment of each country.