To be effective leader , a public official must maintain highest ethical and moral standards

Speculations and news surrounding unethical and indecent acts of public officials , interestingly , has always been hot talk of the town . In fact , history shows that convicted officials have self dug the hole for their own vicissitude. Hence, it is highly imperative for a public official to maintain highest ethical and moral standards. In my opinion, I am consonant with the suggestion and argue that moral scruples play a crucial role in establishing a public official’s image as an effective leader.

Ethics and moral standards are one of the judgemental quality every followers look up in a leader. Thus , aberrant behavior which leads to disgraceful acts tarnish an individual’s image and likely backfire his contention to be a successful leader. A successful leader is determined by his quality to achieve a goal what he is designated to do. A business man, to be an effective leader must maximize the returns and make lucrative profits. However, In the quest for profit maximization one must not forget moral standards. For instance, a consumer commodity production based industry must be closely scrutinized by the business person to ensure the quality of the products be salubrious to its consumers. However, some mercenary businessman who thinks about nothing but money seemingly doesn’t care about welfare of the society. The president of highly industrialized country must adhere to his moral standards and make sure his country doesn’t produce enough carbon- di- oxide which ultimately harms people around the world. Hence, a leader must stick to his morality and care for welfare of the society. Wouldn’t Donald Trump be hailed as an effective global leader if he manages to replace fuel-consuming vehicles by green ones?

Leaders who have been entangled in inappropriate acts have also been proven to be an effective leader.

Marital indiscretion of Kennedy provides the best example. In fact, moral standards are of broadly two types: Personal morality and public morality. One must not be judged based on his personal morality , for his public morality might be pure and stainless. As long as a leader continues to inspire his followers to practice public morality , possible personal imprudence should be out of the sight .

Mahatma Gandhi, whom few would disagree was eminently successful, always inspired to fight against the british colossal force with his non – violence approach. He continued to preach his followers to stick to the moral principles of non violence and made them believe that one day they shall overcome. Consequently, Gandhi was right ,just like every cloud has a silver lining; he and his people succeeded , the British conceded against his moral tenet. No wonder he is regarded as one of the most effective leader in the history of mankind.

Some detractors claim a leader might not have proper moral standards but still could be hailed as an effective leader and his ability should not be masked by his immorality. Although a leader’s effectiveness must not be misguided by his personal immorality; however a leader with pure moral standards would any day be highly effective than an immoral one.So, maintenance of highest moral standard is imperative.