it is important to keep your old friends than make new friends

Can you imagine life without friends? I bet no one can live their life without them, for friends are one of the most beautiful gifts one could ever get in their life. They are part of our happiness, they stick together with us during our hard times and they are partners in fun. In fact, some friends prove to be more than our family. As much as I enjoy company with my old friends, more than that, I love making new friends. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim and argue that it is the other way around mainly because of two reasons.

First, we always meet new peoples during our life and we don’t know what they are going to offer. Human life is dynamic in nature; in fact, the concept of global village of the modern day society subjects us to live and meet people from different types of society, some of those ambiences are never anticipated. For example, my father, who was an army, was deployed to an African country for the duty. I could say, he never anticipated that he would spend a half decade in the African ambience. During his stay, he made a friend from that place, a very close friend indeed. He helped my father during hard times when he was struggling to adapt in the new society. He even invited my father to his home for dinners and some special occasions. No wonder my father always talks about his wonderful friend, for he admits that his friend helped him get over depression and home sickness during his stay in the new place. The example of my father’s story highlights importance of making new friends.

Second, our preferences change with time. One of the most humorous and extrovert student might turn into a reticent and laconic one. During the course of our life, we undergo several psychological changes which might change our preferences. For example, my brother, known for his witty remarks, had a group of friends in school. Everyone was shocked how all of those humorous and naughty boys managed to get into the same group. Perhaps, their preferences of friends were similar to their nature. However, as my brother grew older, facing the hardships life put him through totally changed him. Once extrovert, now my brother barely speaks. His new friends are similar either. He once, surprisingly, confessed to me that he no longer enjoys the company of his boisterous old friends, who love drinking and singing out loud. In fact, he would rather grab a cup of coffee in a silent place and talk for hours with his new friends, who love peace.

Although, it is important to keep hold of our old friends, for they were part of our beautiful memories, it is more important to make new friends. Therefore, I disagree with the claim that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new ones.