The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I agree to the point that young people who are interested in leadership should be instilling a sense of cooperation but they should be equally having the skill of competition developed in them.

For example if we consider a top industry in the market which is in cooperation with its alliances for a period of time but when those alliances start growing up by adapting to conditions and start to race themselves in the market one will obviously be facing a competition in the market and they should be using their ability to tackle it.

However mostly sticking to cooperation alone without competition is not a helping hand for any individual who is in a leadership position of any firm or government or any other fields as they both go hand in hand and skills should be developed by them right from childhood on how to handle the situation..

Hence we can conclude stating that cooperation and competition are two major skills required for any individual in growing world as they both go hand in hand. Younger people should learn how to utilise these skills and when to use them . On doing so they become successful and progress themselves in their respective department.