The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our brains are hardwired to crave for dopamine discharges, which result from getting a reward for actions we take. This reinforces our urge to take that action, and it may eventually become a habit. So, praising positive actions is an effective way of teaching, as the it serves to build good habits into the student, by giving them rewards in the form of complements.

But this idea can sometimes turn out to be detrimental in the long run. Some children, who were always praised after doing something good, get into the habit of expecting praise from their seniors, even when they grow up. They do not differentiate between good and bad, but only praiseworthy and unpraiseworthy. This might lead to other people taking advantage of the child, and even make him/her do their bad deeds. On the other hand, a child who was taught to do the right thing without praising him/her, does not expect any complement from anybody in return. This makes sure that he does not depend on some praise of the seniors to understand the difference between good and bad, and is self-sufficient.

Ignoring bad actions is certainly not very helpful while trying to teach a child. This might often happen due to the bonding between the mentor and the child, and the mentor might not want to hurt the child. But the mentor must understand that the child starts coming under an impression that he/she can get away with doing wrong things easily. When the child later grows up, and tries to do the same thing, the world -not as forgiving as the mentor- gives the harshest punishment to the child. So, the mentor must keep in mind the effect of his neglegence, and make sure he conveys the idea that the action was wrong, even if it requires some harsh means.

Even though bad actions must not be ignored, the intensity of the mentor’s punishment must depend on the intentions of the child behild carrying out the action. Sometimes, a person might do something wrong in order to help someone in need, or for some other greater good. The mentor must ensure that he/she is well aware of the reasons behind the actions, and consider all it’s implications in mind before deciding on the repercussions for the action.

Lastly, the mentor must always maintain healthy communication with the child, be it good or bad actions, and ensure that they understand each other. Sometimes, miscommunication leads to distances between the mentor and the child, which result in the child going the wrong way without guidance. The mentor must make the child feel secure enough to share everything in mind so that the mentor can use his/her experience to guide the child in a better way.