Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

World has been digitalized now, from education to politics affairs, from offices to courts, every field is bringing this new change and trying to digitalize its basic code and working. Earlier, there used to news reporters, gathering information about the political discourse, then a definite community use to study the report and accordingly share their thoughts and facts in the form of journals and newspapers. With digitalization and the internet taking over this field and broadcasting news at real time, people share their thought and process at the real-time. Viewer watching them have full liberty to understand whatever they want from the given news and to frame the news in any form and post it in the various social media platforms. Though, this digitalization have given this liberty to share thoughts and news in the form of online blogosphere and in social media, the authenticity of these political discourse in US is getting weakened greatly. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the reason that it is due to the liberty

given to anyone to publish political opinion easily.

Political events and news are one of the most important aspect of any country, Strength of any country is determined by its political affairs. Giving full liberty to anyone to publish anything about these topic is uncanny as it can lead to several falsified or wrongly constructed news about the political affair to circulate worldwide. Social media platform have become vital these days, hardly there are any people who are not active on social media platforms like Twitter, Instagram or Facebook. In fact, these platforms are great source of information related to every field and people trust them too. If anyone is circulating any spurious news about political events in social media, it will greatly impact a surge of people, it may lead people to loose trust on

certain politician and leaders, therefore it is very essential that there should be some check on who can post news related to political affairs in social media platforms and online "blogosphere". Maybe, some people can be appointed to keep a check on it, or a legal rule can be passed on the consequences it lead to if someone post wrong details related to political affairs in any of these platforms online.

Furthermore, if we look into other side of it, this liberty is also important to some extent, as it give people a sense of their right to share their thoughts and feeling. This may provide a better image of certain political leaders to try to arcane certain works by giving

ambivalent speeches. This liberty allows people to highlights some loopholes in the political system and make this information reach worldwide, so that people can take better decision at the time of voting, for their next leaders election. Prohibiting them to release blogs and post on social media about there opinion can make people loose their trust on the government too.

In the nutshell, in my opinion, there should be some restrictions, but with right amount of liberty too. There are various tools which can help in analysis of news related to political issue better. Artificial Intelligence is advancing in leaps and bound, there can be some AI technology to detect the news which are defaming certain political leaders, or whenever there is any post or blog related to politics, there can be a "read more" section which can direct the people to some official and authentic sites, like the one we see for Covid-19 these day in Instagram platform. Certain restriction can be imposed but the main aim should be that trust of people remains intact, because political milieu without public opinion does not holds water in long run.