Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.
Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
For any country, their major cities are its most valuable asset. It is these cities that are instrumental in bringing about the
globalization of a country by making a mark on the international platform.They are the node where all the trade activities, financial
transactions, cultural exchange converge to and /or diverge from.The affluency of these cities commensurates the development of a country
thus, making them an important element in a nations progress. The governments must , therefore, meticulously cater to the all the financial
requirements of these cities .
The very character of a country is potrayed by its people and that is why, the culture of a country is its primary defining element.
The major citites are cosmopolitan in nature and amass people from nearly all the different culture and traditions found in the country.
People from various backgrounds, cultures, religions come to these cities to make a living and end up contributing to its vast pool of
cultural and ethnical varieties and thus, become prevalent.As these cities are highly globalised, they, in a way, represent the entire country to
the world at large as they are the ones which predominantly get engraved on teh face of the globe. So effectively, the country's culture is
represented by theculture within these cities. People from all around the globe look up to these cities' culture and tradition as a projection
of the entire country's. So it is of utmost importance that the governments pay strict attention towards the well-being of these cities. People
all over the world know about indian festival of ganesh chaturthi which is primarily focussed in the sprawling city of mumbai. One can find
lord ganesha's idols not only in india but also in countries such a thailand, vietnam , indonesia , japan ,etc. Mumbai , since ancient times
has been a major trading centre of india which which helped it entrench its relations with a lot of countries. As the city grew richer in its
population and consequently its culture, it was noticed by many other countries which propagated the festival of ganesh chaturthi to other
countries as well.
For international relations, healthy cultural exchange is a must and a country's major cities act as an ambassador for the country,
it becomes the government's responsibility to channelize a decent amount of financial support towards these cities which would eventually
stand in a good stead in the long run as it would create much more opportunities in these cities which would ameliorate the lives of its
residents and thereby , presesrve and even generate new cultures,ethnicities and traditions within these major cities.