Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

I agree with the statement that ones who see their ideas through, give their all to achieve what they believe in, despite all the criticism, adversities and different opinions of others are the ones who leave a lasting legacy behind them.

In my opinion, it is a fact that any new idea, or even any proposition which is against an established norms or standards set within a social setting, be it a town, country, nation, ethnicity or organization etc. faces massive opposition in the beginning. Change is never welcomed from the outset. This is something of a default setting of human brains. Hence, whenever we see or meet any new or innovative idea in its initial form we tend to find its flaws, how it won't work and we believe it is deemed for failure.

History is full of such examples, especially in fields of science and technology. e.g. the idea of flight without balloons. The Wright brothers, when they tested their engines and failed multiple times, people around them continued to discourage them by declaring this venture as a lost cause, an impossible task; but their persistence and continuous efforts led to their success.

Similarly, in worlds of politics, the idea of democracy against monarchy or feudalism in most countries seemed an impossible task, but post magna-carta within a few hundred years major part of world has embraced democracy, despite facing many difficulties. If we take example of Nelson Mendela, who faced almost three decades of jail-time, but didn't give in and in the end succeeded to eliminate the apartheid and started a new phase in history of South Africa.

Some visionaries may fail to achieve what they want to, due to many factors like they may not live long enough or too much adversities, or even some flaws of their ideas. But, even then their efforts are recognized, and someone else may take over their mantle and try to achieve what they intended to. Sometimes, they may get their due credit, sometimes they don't. Despite the above, one must standby their beliefs and ideas; unless they are proven wrong on a level which satisfies them. Because, if one doesn't believe fully in their own vision, they won't be able to achieve it.

Furthermore, successful visionaries leave a long-lasting legacy, and they are remembered for ages to come. They are cited as examples for the next generations and lead the way for centuries to come.