Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Modern world is based upon the democracy our founding fathers created. And the basis of democracy is the country's inhabitants satisfaction. The prompt suggests that government officials who leads the country should always rely on their own judgement rather than consider what the people of the country wants. I mostly disagree with this assertion specially for two reasons. Yes, government officials leadership skills is undoubtly aimed at the prosperity of a country but isn't the people's satisfaction and will the original aim for democracy?

The government officials who are obliged to served the country does by choosing the best for the country. In a democratic society such government officials are chosen by the people. Why the majority of the people elect such a government official using the democratic voting system? Surely it is for there country's and people's own betterment. But if the elected government official doesn't give a damm about the people's will, will the majority of the population be satisfied with their action? For instance, there is no such thing as stable government. And USA in its earlier days, was devoid of egalitarian rules where racism was prevalent. Government officials did not consider what the population wanted which consists of both white and black people. Rather they legalized slavery by their own judgement. And what became the ultimate result of this? Civil war occued for the people wanting their appropriate rights. The government was overthrown and a new burnished government was established. Similarly, being indiffernt to people's will and carrying thier own judgement is sure to result in anarchy that destroys the basis of democracy.

Cooperation over competition is always needed in a democratic society. Just by cooperating with all the population of a country, a leader can reach the apex position of respect. And the satisfaction of the people is exactly the definition of a democratic society. As an example, why democratic societies were established? Wasn't dictatorship prevalent during the middled ages? A massive change occur during the 17th to 18th century is establishing democratic societies worldwide. Although, dictatorship was stable and it also ensured a bright future of the country but is is succeptible to breaking people's independece and rights. Thus such societies perished. Democratic society was established with equal rights and independence to the people. Independence means the people have a right to say in the country's affairs. And if the majority of the people is opposed to the view the government official took, it is better to listen to the people rather than establishing it by their own judgement.

Perhaps, some conditions may arise where peoples will directly contradict with the official's better judgement and there is certain discernment that those people's view will result is a precarious position for the country. Only then the government officials can choose their own judgement against the people's will but they also have to ensure proper knowledge to the people why the judgement is far better than the majority view. That way people can come to reconcile with the officials and ensure a stable society.

In conclusion, government officials may not rely on their own judgement unless it is absolutely necessary. People's right and independence is what a country is build upon and every government official should respect the people's will.