We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning

In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the idea that we can acquire more knowledge from people whose views we share than those whose views go against our own for two main reasons, as stated below. However, I do concede that it is easier to learn from people we have more commonalities although we can learn more from people whose thoughts contradict our thoughts.

First, the people who contradict our view give us the opportunity to question our own view. Just because we believe something does not necessarily mean that is the truth. The people contradicting our views might actually have true knowledge about something. For example, consider a flat earth believer. If he does not engages in conversation with people who believe that the earth is round, he may never get out his notion of the flat earth. If he only joins in conversation with other flat earth believers then that might make him more doctrinaire about his own idea. Thus it is always beneficial for us to have our thoughts questioned. This will help us remove any wrong views we might have ourselves.

Furthermore, even if we have the right views, it can still expand our knowledge if we get to know someone who opposes our views. One might say what is the benefit of knowing a flat earther for a round earth believer. There are actually two. First, with enough conversation and logic, we might be able to convince them that their idea is wrong. Second, even if we fail to change their views, we might still learn valuable insight about why they thought what they thought and how they have acquired that thought. This will help us eradicate the problem at the root.

On the other hand, we can easily accept the input from the people we share views with. If we have any shortcomings in our own beliefs, then the people who share our thought might be the proper person to have a discussion with. For example, consider a person who wants to be more religious, the last thing he needs is to talk with someone who does not believe in religion.

To conclude, it is indeed a topic of debate with lots of gray areas. But for greater benefit, for society and for ourself, we should always engage more with the people who contradict our own thought than the people who share our thought.