Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

College education is the backbone of most successful individuals. Currently, the high cost of university education discourages prospective students who want to acquire a tertiary level of education. Consequently, to encourage more students to enroll in colleges and subsequently improve society, governments should provide college education free of charge to all students.

Firstly, the student loan debt in the united states is estimated to be about 1.2 trillion dollars. This is essentially due to the high cost of education in the united states. Many students who would want the opportunity to go to college are simply discouraged by these high costs. The idea of being tied down by debt in a lump sum is not an auspicious feeling for most citizens. Providing college free of charge would encourage a lot of prospective students to enroll in college while easing the burden a student loan debt would have on such students.

Furthermore, innovation is paramount to any improving nation. As the number of students enrolled in college increases, there would be more research-based engagement where there is a paucity. Currently, in the University of Abuja there is a 40:1 ratio of undergraduate students to graduate students. The cost of obtaining a post-graduate degree is fairly discouraging to most students. Some universities charge as much as 100,000 dollars for a graduate degree. This may be justified based on the high level of education the schools have to offer, nevertheless it does not change the fact that some households can not simply afford it. Students who have developed a research interest in a particular field both at the undergraduate and postgraduate level would be more likely to enroll in college. These subsequently would improve society as research breeds innovation.

The provision of free education would be a good move by the government however, it may come at a great cost both to the government and the citizens. Taxes are likely to go up as the government would seek ways to fund the institutions. While this may seem difficult, governments in several countries have been able to subsidize the cost of education in their nations thereby reducing the cost significantly.

In conclusion, while providing free college education may seem a daunting task for some countries, there are more advantages than there are disadvantages. Increased enrollment in colleges, a substantial decrease in student loan debt, and an improvement in research and development are a few of these predicted advantages.