Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendations and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development have been pivotal in development of many countries and enhancing the economic and welfarism of these countries, thereby, improving the standard of living of its citizens. Many nations are tending towards adoption of scientific research and development due to significance in nations development. The prompts recommend government to encourage scientific research and development. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the recommendation that scientific research and development should be supported wholly for three reasons.

First and foremost, the health industry has seen tremendous development due to immense scientific research and development. The discoveries of drugs and vaccines have been solely due to continuous ongoing scientific research which is possible because government didn’t place restriction on such activities. The use of Xray, chemotherapy, organ transplants, dialysis to mention a few are also made possible due to unrestricted scientific development. It is unfathomable how many lives would have lost if these scientific discoveries were unmade due hindrance by government.

Furthermore, technology plays a crucial role in the overall growth of a nation and is crucial in development of every other sectors like engineering, agriculture, transportation and communications. The advent of technology was due to innovative ideas that was made possible due to scientific research and development. Imagine, the number of miles people trekked in order to deliver mail or travel from one settlement to the other and how technology has eased these sufferings and made mail delivery faster and easier as well transportation. All these were possible because scientists were given free access to explore and be creative to solve major problems without numerous rules prohibiting them.

Perhaps, it might be argued that without rules, scientists are reliable to trespass and employ a lot of unethical approaches in their research activities. However, a lot of discipline has professional code of conducts and rules governing how research is to be conducted and the safety measures to be conducted which failure to comply will result in sanction. Hence, these professional bodies understand the intricate part of the discipline because they are also practitioners compared to government interference that might clouded with political and emotional sentiments, thereby, hindering major scientific development and breakthrough.

in conclusion, scientific development and research has been able to improve our lives positively with few restrictions. I believe continuous freedom for scientist to further research will be beneficial to all and enhance our livelihood more.