A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One of the fundamental rights of any citizen in a country is the 'Right to Education'.

He or she has every right to learn and develop any skill they are interested in. There are various public and private institutions in any country that facilitate education for students. The author suggests that a standard nation wide curriculum should be implimented so all the students below college level undergo same kind of education. I disagree with the recommendation made mainly due to the subjective interests of every student. Not everyone of us are the same and we have different interests and so acknowledging and respecting the same is necessary.

Firstly, it is the schooling (the time right from pre school to college that will form a sound base for the future of any individual. During this stage, there is mental and physical burgeon and so, it is important that the child must be given the freedom to develop his personaliy and charter. For instance, consider a child who has a good physique and strength but is poor at science. Here, if the child is allowed to play and focus more on Football rather than on science, there is a high chance that he can build a successful career in football, something he is strong and capable at. If there is a national cirriculum in force, the child might not be able to focus more on football and will be forced to concentrate on maths which is his weakest point. Thus is it quite evident that schooling that is the first 15 years of a child is very crucial for buliding a strong foundation and having a monotonus and rigid curriculum for everyone would only lead to forgoing of tatelnt unrecognised.

Furthermore, as human we have different intersts and passion. Having a rigid curriculum shall only hinder the ability of the childern to explore the fileds of their intersts. For instance, a national curriculum mamy focus more on theoretical subjects like maths and science, where as a student is more interested in vocational courses like arts and dance. In this situation, due to a nation-wide common curiculum, the student will be left with no choice but to give up on her intersts especially during the time of foundation. Implimentaion of a common curiculum will therefore hinder the childs development in the area of his or her interstes.

However, there might be situations where the student is flummoxed about the area of his interests and so not sure as to what to persue. In this situation a standard syllabus will come to his rescue as it would give him an oppirtunity to exploit all the available subjects and figure out the area of his interests. It is also advisable that the first few years of schooling, that is up until primary education, to have a standard and strong base as a common understading is required to futher pursue one's field of interest in the coming years.

Therefore, while it is advisable to have a standard nation wide syllabus until the primary education, a standard curriculum in the later years will only impede the child to explore the areas of his interests and live his passion. I believe a choice should be given to children after a certain age to persure the subjects of his interest bolstering his career. A nationan wide Curriculum will not be a advantageous after a point.