Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Although there are many important discoveries or creations that are accidental. Many more discoveries are sought to solve the pressing problems of mankind, starting from the wheel in the early ages to the Smart phones now. Hence, it is not reasonable to generalize all the important discoveries under a single umbrella of ‘accidental discoveries.

Yes, I do agree with the author that there have been some important discoveries by serendipity. There are many discoveries that exemplify the author’s position.The earliest accidental discovery can be dated back to the palaeolithic age where fire was discovered by Neandethrals. The penicillin discovery by Alexander Fleming happened by an accident during his ‘influenza virus’ research break. The United states of America was discovered by Columbus accidentally while he was on his way to find the west indies for trade.There are many other incidental findings of archaeologists in pursuit of others,which serve as the rich source of history, civilizations and extinct animals.

However, these few accidental discoveries don't outweigh the many more discoveries or creations which are done on purpose. There are many useful discoveries that were outcomes of intense research and study. As ‘necessity is the mother of invention’, the majority of the groundbreaking innovations and discoveries are the results to enhance the living of mankind or to solve the problems. The wheel was invented based on the principle of rolling objects, enabling easy transportation. Enhancing the then existing transportation methods was the invention of the steam engine by james watt.Then followed the airplanes and space crafts. The need for the enhancement of better transportation systems has led to inventions ranging from wheels to spacecraft. Not only in the case of transportation, the iPhone ideated by Steve Jobs is an enhanced innovation of the telephone invented by Graham bell.

Similarly, medical innovations and advanced engineering marvels are not just baseless and instant. They require a lot of engineering skills, analysis of existing data etc. The invention of the most important IC chips cannot be called accidental.

To conclude, even though there are many important accidental discoveries, the discoveries and inventions done on purpose must not be ignored and we cannot generalise that all the important discoveries are by accident. We should remember, ultimately all the discoveries add to the advancement of the world and enhancement of the living styles.