Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Although many important discoveries or creations are accidental. Many more discoveries are sought to solve the pressing problems of mankind, starting from the wheel in the early ages to the Smartphones now. Hence, it is not reasonable to generalize all the important discoveries under a single umbrella of ‘accidental discoveries.

Yes, I agree with the author that serendipity has made some important discoveries. Many discoveries exemplify the author’s position. The earliest accidental discovery can be dated back to the paleolithic age when the fire was discovered by Neanderthals. The penicillin discovery by Alexander Fleming happened by an accident during his ‘influenza virus’ research break. The United States of America was discovered by Columbus accidentally while he was on his way to find the west indies for trade. Many other incidental findings of archaeologists in pursuit of others serve as a rich source of history, civilizations, and extinct animals.

However, these few accidental discoveries don't outweigh the many more discoveries or creations which are done on purpose. Many useful discoveries were the outcomes of intense research and study. As ‘necessity is the mother of invention, the majority of groundbreaking innovations and discoveries are the results to enhance the living of mankind or solve problems. The wheel was invented based on the principle of rolling objects, enabling easy transportation. Enhancing the then-existing transportation methods was the invention of the steam engine by James watt. Then followed the airplanes and space crafts. The need for the enhancement of better transportation systems has led to inventions ranging from wheels to spacecraft. Not only in the case of transportation, the iPhone ideated by Steve Jobs is an enhanced innovation of the telephone invented by Graham bell.

Similarly, medical innovations and advanced engineering marvels are not just baseless and instant. They require a lot of engineering skills, analysis of existing data, etc. The invention of the most important IC chips cannot be called accidental.

To conclude, even though there are many important accidental discoveries, the discoveries and inventions done on purpose must not be ignored and we cannot generalize that all-important discoveries are by accident. We should remember, ultimately all the discoveries add to the advancement of the world and enhancement of living styles.