To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In today's world with things fickling at a rapid pace, the developments in the major cities constantly drive out the developments in less prominent cities. Assisuous efforts are made to reconcile the developments in less important cities to compare and contrast it with the most important ones. But when it comes to exploring the charachteristics of the society, major cities are always given preference and priority. The prompt suggests that to understand the important characterisitcs of a society, the nations major cities need to be studied. I strongly agree with the statement and provide three pivotal reasons in the favor of the mentioned statement.

To begin, in the contemporary society, the developed cities are majorly responsible for the reverence of a nation and its economy in the global world. Most of the Multinational companies, and its headquarters are located in the most prominent cities, which allows them to leverage advanced facilites at a large scale and also at an affordable price. The amenities offered by the metropolitan cities when juxtaposed with the rest is predominantly colossal. For instance, Google has its offices in major cities in India such as Bangalore and Hyderabad. It is easy for the employees to to work more effectively due to metros and effective public transport. The governemnt is constantly making efforts to ameliorate the lives of people in these cities. No doubt, even the rural areas are being developed but the when it comes to generalizing the public of the nation, only the major cities are explored.

Secondly, the standard and the cost of living in the important cities play a vital role in determining the characteristics of a society. It is easy to conduct a survey in urban areas with ease as compared to rural areas. Due to availability of smart phones in every household in the smart cities, it becomes very simple to conduct any sort of survey by just sending a notification. Conducting a survey in rural areas takes an exacting effort by visiting every household and then collecting the information. Also, the coverage of news is pivotal cities is much larger as compared to less developed ones.

Some critics might argue that rural areas and underdeveloped cities too play a major role, since a lot of activites are performed in these areas. But, if we ruminate thoroughly, consider the woking of today's society and ponder upon the aforementioned reasons, it is clearly visible that the major cities play a significant role in determining the charactersitics of the society due to the ease and sophisticated techology usage in these areas.