A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The concept of national curriculum can enable countries acheive certain objectives which include providing a similar foundation for all students in terms of knowledge and areas of common national interest such as its history, languages and customs. What percentage of a country's citizens would set aside time to know its history without a policy mandating them to? The idea of a national curriculum helps to make this possible by providing a platform for discussions centered around history and help individuals imbibe the culture of patriotism. A curriculum imbibed with history for example - can inspire individuals to greater heights from past heroes and event that has shaped the country's history. Take Singapore as a country for instance, the strides and efforts of Lee Kuan Yew has not only inspired singaporeans or shaped its developmental trajectory but also non-singaporeans like me who have been motivated by his legacies. There are also a plethora of individuals such as Mandela, the "Dalai Lama" and others who have gone on to become idols for so many individuals around the globe from the inclusion of such studies in national curriculum.

Moreover, a national curriculum can be used to achieve some minimal level of knowledge for all students which would be highly impossible in a bespoke curriculum environment: Communication and financial literacy skills are life essentials and mandating students to therefore go through a course that entails these skills as a minimum can provide valuable information even if individuals can act irrationally at their own discretion. Akin to that, a curriculum that imbibes activities such as sports can help student cultivate a lifestyle of exercise which is an imperative towards a healthy lifestyle.

Also, a national curriculum can help to curtail the bias of parents and guardian who are most likely to influence the decisions of students before they enter college. As humans, we are bias monsters with great desire for control especially when it comes to our children. Parents more often than not, already have a desired career path for their children and may only concentrate on skills and knowledge needed for the career path without an external force compelling the children to go through some other form of knowledge which they may ultimately prefer. The benefits here are to provide a balance approach towards a students experience and knowledge until they are able to decide what interests they have and also what motivates them.

Overall, a national curriculum that is well thought out and considers factors such as skills needed in all realms of careers, social skills and health related consideration would provide an ameliorating impact on individual and parental biases, greed and as a minimum improve individuals knowledge of their heritage even if it doesn't spur their interest in their country's development.