A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

Having the same curriculum for every student in a country may at first seem very promising, but every idea has its downsides. This would mean having a single board that decides the syllabus and organizes the exams. But it may be necessary to have different curriculums in certain situations.

To begin with, having a single board will reduce the problems for the people who set the papers for college entry exams, as they will not have to keep track of multiple curriculums. The entrance examinations will then be much fairer to every student in that nation, as this will ensure that every student has an equal chance to prove their mettle at this level.

Additionally, this method will also save the state's tax money. In a country with multiple boards, like India, a lot of assets are invested to ensure smooth functioning of these boards. Also, the cost creating many different courses for the training of the teachers can be avoided. Maintaining a single board will certainly reserve these assets for a different cause, like disaster mitigation.

Conversely, having a single committee decide the syllabus for all students in the nation may not be such a good idea. In a big country like India, every region has their own culture and educational needs, it will not be wise to teach a student living in the north-eastern regions a language like Kannada or a student living in the southern regions Assamese, even teaching Hindi, the national language to every student is not advisable. So, creating multiple boards that makes region specific curriculum is the best move in such a situation.

I would like to conclude this essay by saying that having a singular curriculum is definitely the better choice for regions which do not have a lot of cultural diversity, but if that is the case, opting for region-specific curriculum will be the best step.