National Curriculum

With the increasing number of students pursuing higher education in the past decade, there has likewise been an increase in the discussion of how to best prepare students to successfuly tackle the rigorous college curriculum. Although the prompt suggests that a nation should require all of its students to adhere to the identical national curriculum prior to their entry into college, I disagree with this recommendation for two reasons.

First, students are unique individuals with a myriad of interests and often explore their diverse interests through the various elective courses offered at their schools. The implementation of a standardized national curriculum would inevitably lead to the loss of choice between an array of electives and would stifle the ability of students to explore their interests through their choice of coursework. Moreover, as these elective courses often play an integral role in a student's determination of his or her future career, a standardized curriculum would also limit a student's abilities to explore his or her aptitude for various career options.

Although a standardized curriculum may ensure that all students adequately complete the required coursework that will prepare them for their college courses, it will also reduce the diversity of thought processes that form as a result of the applications of knowledge gained from distinct courses. In a rapidly globalizing world where the importance of diversity on college campuses and workspaces has been placed center-stage, the implementation of a standardized curriculum would reduce the possibility for students to encounter the varied opinions of other students who have had their ideas shaped through the exploration of a unique combination of coursework. Thus, the use of a standardized curriculum would only expose students to a predetermined set of coursework and limit the potential for students to make unique connections between the courses they have chosen to take.

In essence, as students are unique in their interests the use of a standardized curriculum will limit their ability to select the courses that would best allow them to explore their passions and future career choices, as well as reduce their exposure to the individuality of thought processes that occur as a result of applying knowledge from different courses.