"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented in the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that a greater percentage of the company's budget should be used towards advertising to increase the awareness of Super Screen-produced movies to prospective viewers. However, in order to sufficiently address this argument, three questions must be answered.

First, are the specific Super Screen movies that received positive reviews representative of a majority of the content Super Screen Movie Production Company releases? For example, if the content of the specific Super Screen movies that were given positive reviews by many viewers is of a specific genre that is not often produced by the company, then increasing the public's awareness of the positive reviews about these films would not necessarily increase the number of viewers. If the genre of future movies produced by Super Screen is viewed by a niche audience, then it is possible that the viewers looking to watch films of the same genre of the positively reviewed movies may not find their desired option within the lineup of movies from the Super Screen Movie Production Company. Thus, the advertising director must be able to provide evidence that the movies that had positive reviews are representative of the future movies produced by Super Screen to sufficiently address his or her argument.

Next, is the public unaware of the positive reviews that have been left by viewers on specific Super Screen movies? For example, if these reviews are listed on a public website and the company can determine that prospective viewers have been reading these statements then it is possible that increasing the public's awareness of these reviews is unlikely to increase the number of viewers to future movies from the company. If the advertising director was able to determine that the viewcount of the positive reviews has been low, among prospective viewers, then the argument for increasing public awareness can be better evaluated.

Finally, will the advertisements from the company reach new viewers and convince them to watch new films produced by the company? For instance, it is possible that these new advertisements may not be watched by prospective movie attendees if the advertisements are not engaging— and may even deter prospective viewers from watching movies produced by Super Screen. If the advertising director is able to provide data that the new advertisements would encourage prospective movie attendees to view films from Super Screen, then his or her agument can be better evaluated.

With the information that is currently presented within the advertising director's memo, the argument presented cannot be adequately analyzed. If the director is able to provide more details about the relationship between the content in positively reviewed films and future films, the current visibility of positive reviews, and the efficacy of advertisements, then his or her recommendation can be better evaluated.